Inter-school science fair inspired the junior scientist for innovation in local context

To inspire the young scientist for innovation and enhance science education, LEDARS has arranged Inter School Science Fair 2018 at 28 February 2018 at Shyamnagar Upazila Complex ground, under the project of Promoting Science Education Promotion in Secondary School: funded by Bangladesh Freedom Foundation(BFF). Md. Kamruzzaman, Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) of Shyamnagar Upazila was chief guest of the fair. Md. Ataul Haque Dolon, Secretary of Bangladesh Awamileague, Shyamnagar Upazila unit, Mr. Abul Hossain Mia, Upazila Agriculture Officer, DAE, Shyamnagar, Md. Faruk Hossain Sagor, Upazila Senior Fisheries Officer, Dr. Priongkor Kundo, Upazila Livestock Officer, Mr. Abul Kalam Rofikuzzaman, Upazila Secondary Education Officer, Mr. Morshed Alam Sohel, Program Officer of Bangladesh Freedom Foundation(BFF) Mr. Nazrul Islam, Ret. Teacher and Freedom Fighter, Mr. Krishnananda Mukharjee, Head Teacher of Nakipur Pilot Girls Scool, Mr. Mohon Kumar Mondal, Executive Director of LEDARS, Mr. Mina Habibur Rahman, Academic Supervisor, Mr. Akteruzzaman Sikdar, Upazila Coordinator of Friendship were  present in the ceremony as the special guest. Mr. Bidhusroba Mondal, Chairman of LEDARS and Principal of Munshigonj Degree College presided over the inaugural ceremony and Md. Nazrul Islam, honorable Freedom Fighter and Executive Board Members of LEDARS was presided over the closing ceremony.

In the fair, junior scientist from 30 secondary schools and 02 colleges, has demonstrated their innovative projects like wooden freeze, helicopter, mitigating technology of the traffic jam on Flyover, electric donation box, ATM booths, water vehicles, press machines, energy produced technology by biological goods, air cooler, disaster resilient house, bioscope, damper, solar technology, auto brush cleaner, etc. During the fair, students have participated in different events like debate competition, music competitions, science quiz competition and essay writing competitions. All winner students of different event were given by crest with attractive prize like books, wall watch, crookeries set, etc.  Nawabenki High School has been awarded for best stall and Ramjannagor Union Tofazel Bidhapith awarded for the best science club of 2018. Equipment of Mini science laboratory has been given to best stall and science clubs. The co-sponsor of the event was Trust Bank Limited, SBAC Bank Limited, Sonar Bangla Paribar, Tamim Traders, Rokon Book Depot, Mukto Chapakhana, Islam Brothers, Moushumi Construction, etc.